A noobs adventures in cab ownership!

Show off your wares.
ChrisBEANS
moneyspendingexpert.com
eBay: chrismartinlewis
Initials: BNS

A noobs adventures in cab ownership!

Post by ChrisBEANS »

I figure as I've involved so many people, both here and in other forums, and I'll be asking advice all the wayI should probably just document the adventures...

These are my first cabs, and outside of building my own fightsticks in the past, I have zero prior experience. As you'll see!!

Nonsense back story in the spoiler tab below, but really we're all just here for pictures, aren't we?

I started on Twitch in Lockdown, just for something to do, and got heavily in to Metal Slug...

Got a 1cc on MS, so decided I'd do MS2, got a 1cc in that too and decided I had to 1cc all of the series. (I'm not sure I can link the videos as I get double sweary!!)

Then of course I decided that it doesn't count unless it's on hardware, right??

So I started collecting the MVS carts with the intention of getting a consolized MVS. Which is how I ended up on several Arcade forums, which is where I got exposed to the fact that it's a realistic possibility to own cabs.

It all being about Metal Slug, it had to be a dedicated MVS cab, and I fell in love with the SNK U4. Searched for months for one, and eventually an add came up (I was actually pointed towards it by a FrancoB on the UKVAC forum who'd noticed that I was looking around. Just a small example of what a friendly and helpful community the arcade scene is in my experience so far)

Cab came from Sweden, and so took a few weeks, and a bunch of e-mails regarding import tax and some faffing about, but eventually...

TL:DR version - I really wanted an SNK U4

Hooray!!

Had a few adventures with it so far. When it arrived there was a very random short that caused the screen to die. Never got to the bottom of it, it just, went away?!

Once that was out of the way, there was some random sound issue with the MVS board...